RU
Reconstruction
18.05.2022 - 10.07.2022
An exhibition by iconic Russian photographer Sergei Borisov is set to open at the Ruarts Gallery on May 18. ‘Reconstruction’ is a partly retrospective show to mark the author’s 75th birthday.


Curator of the exhibition Catherine Borissoff has been working with the author’s legacy for many years, aiming to reconceptualise the material produced by this master of photography with a keen feel for the ‘zeitgeist’, revealing his oeuvre in a new light with each successive show. Whatever genre his works take (whether portrait, studio, urban or nude photography), they nearly always reflect the characteristics of those periods and events in history chronicled to this day by Sergei Borisov.

The exhibition features more than 50 images by Borisov from various years, including both well-known works and those seen for the first time.

The definition of the word ‘reconstruction’ (‘radical reorganization, organization on a new foundation’) quite accurately reflects the essence of the author’s artistic approach in the 1980s and 90s, as perestroika and the USSR began to fall apart (‘Glasnost and Perestroika’ (1986), ‘Dialogue’ (1983), ‘Flight’ (1988), ‘The Student’ (1993), ‘Dancing in front of the Construction Site’ (1996)).

Parallels with works from past years are involuntarily called to mind as the author continues his playful reiteration of images and subjects in the newer pictures. This reconstruction of subject matter brings a reinterpretation. Many of Borisov’s works assume a different resonance today. The world is still in need of change (‘Changes’ (2020), ‘Aurora’ (2012), ‘..reedom’ (2020), ‘Friendship of Peoples’ (2005), ‘Our Utopia’ (2020)).

As a rule ‘Reconstruction’ does not try to recreate the events of the past, instead it seeks to reflect on the events of our time and devise a radical reconstruction on new foundations. This is an attempt to comprehend the present moment in which everyone must answer the question: is a new future necessary, or must we endlessly recreate the past?

Borisov continues to work actively to this day, recording the current events that will also become history one day.
“We will not die.” Let’s hope so.
EXHIBITION
Powered by

EN
Реконструкция
18.05.2022 - 10.07.2022
18 мая в галерее Ruarts откроется выставка классика российской фотографии Сергея Борисова. «Реконструкция» приурочена к 75-летию автора и отчасти является ретроспективной.


Куратор выставки Катрин Борисов много лет работает с наследием автора и каждый раз пытается переосмыслить материал мастера, остро чувствующего «дух времени», и показать его работы в новом ключе. В каком бы жанре ни были выполнены его работы (портрет, студийная или городская съемка, ню), почти всегда они являются отражением примет тех или иных периодов и событий истории, летописцем которых был и остается Сергей Борисов.

В выставку вошло более 50 работ Борисова разных лет, в их числе как известные работы, так и выставляемые впервые.

Определение слова «Реконструкция» («коренное переустройство, организация чего-либо на новых основах») довольно точно отражает суть художественного подхода автора в 80-х и 90-х годах прошлого века, времен начала распада СССР и перестройки («Гласность и Перестройка» (1986), «Диалог» (1983), «Полет» (1988), «Студентка» (1993), «Танец перед стройкой» (1996)).

Автор продолжает заигрывание с образами и сюжетами прошлого, так, в новых работах невольно напрашиваются параллели. С реконструкцией сюжетов происходит и их переосмысление. Сегодня по-другому звучат многие снимки Борисова. Мир все еще требует перемен («Перемен» (2020), «Аврора» (2012), «Вободу» (2020), «Дружба народов» (2005), «Наша утопия» (2020)).

В целом, «Реконструкция» – это не попытка воссоздания событий прошлого, а попытка отрефлексировать события наших дней и продумать коренное переустройство на новых основах. Это попытка осмысления настоящего момента, в котором каждый должен ответить на вопрос: нужно ли нам новое будущее или же мы будем до бесконечности восстанавливать прошлое?

Борисов по сей день продолжает активно работать, фиксируя события наших дней, которые тоже когда-нибудь станут историей.
«Мы не умрем». Хотелось бы верить.
ВЫСТАВКА
Powered by