RU
Alexey Luka. Entrance No. 5
20.09.2019 - 27.10.2019
Opening a new exhibitional season, Ruarts Gallery present a project “Entrance No. 5” by Alexey Luka, who is a contemporary artist and one of the participants of the Russian street wave movement.

Within parallel program of 8th Moscow International biennale of contemporary art


According to the concept, the two floors of the gallery will embody the work space of street artist who creates both in an urban environment and within his own workroom. The ground floor will contain objects and assemblages related to street visual culture, while on the first floor there will be an art studio with its inherent creative chaos. The staircase will become a kind of portal leading a visitor from the public space of the city to the artist’s private zone.

However, it is not as simple as that. The internal and the external spaces are never completely separated from each other, they are infinitely intertwined and participate in an ongoing dialogue. So, it is impossible to definitely determine the boundaries between the art object and the physical context it is placed in. The viewer witnesses an ever-changing illusion as the elements of the environment are suddenly perceived as art, and the oeuvres become organically integrated into its surroundings.

It happens quite often that Alexey Luka finds material for his work on the street. Urban elements that embody something general and impersonal such as signs, banners, fences et cetera, are brought into his studio, where along with the furniture found on the street and the artist’s personal belongings they turn into one cohesive piece of art. All the materials and elements that have their own history and belong to different time periods, combined into a composition gain a new life.

Refusing direct indications of the object’s belonging to the urban or to the interior space, Alexey Luka draw the viewer away from the stereotypical perception of street art. It provides an opportunity to independently review the concepts of the aesthetic and the domestic, the internal and the external, the personal and the public.

Within his exhibition, Alexey presents artworks in different techniques including abstract acrylic paintings, assemblages, objects and sculptures created with old doors, windows and other found objects. His main task will be to show the way how all these artistic practices can integrate in public and private spaces by blending into the provided environment. The exhibition “Entrance No. 5” is not a decoration or a spatial representation of the artist’s work in the gallery, but an independent holistic research project that allows individual works to get into a polyphonic discussion with each other and helps to define the very essence of contemporary art.

Alexey Luka (born in 1983) is a Moscow artist, one of the participants of the Russian street art wave movement, whose creative method addresses abstract painting and rethinking of modernist traditions in urban space. Alexey Luka works with the architectural form and texture of materials, using various media, including painting, graphics, objects and installations.
Alexey’s interest in the architectural component, as well as his passion for graffiti and street art, emerge during his studies at the Moscow Architectural Institute. Gradually, street art became an increasingly prominent artistic movement in Russia, having acquired institutional recognition owing to numerous festivals and biennales. In parallel with this process, Luka’s desire to transform his hobby into professional artistic practice grew.
Alexey Luka is a frequent participant in the Russian and international Biennales (I, II and III Street wave art biennale “Artmossphere” (2014, 2016, 2018), the 6th Biennale in Marrakesh, Morocco (2016)), as well as in important collective projects (the first integral research on Russian street art «Wall elements» by Alex Partola (2018)) and exhibitions («Wall elements» at the Central Exhibition Hall Manege in St. Petersburg (2018), «The Wall» as a part of the Street Art Forum in MMOMA (2019)). Besides, Alexey regularly creates large-scale murals participating since 2012 in various public-art festivals all over the world: in Moscow, St. Petersburg, Rostov-on-Don and Astrakhan, as well as in many cities of Italy, Spain, Germany, Denmark, France, Estonia, Slovakia and Morocco.
Luka's works have been several times presented at dual and collective exhibitions in Ruarts Gallery (“Wall elements” 2014; “Unforeseen Circumstances” 2015; “Dacha Season” 2017; “Wall elements 2” 2018). In September, both floors of the Gallery will host his large personal project “Entrance No. 5”, and in October Alexey Luka will become a participant in the Main Project of the 8th Moscow International Biennale of Contemporary Art.
EXHIBITION
Press
Powered by

EN
Алексей Лука. Подъезд №5
20.09.2019 - 27.10.2019
Галерея Ruarts в рамках Параллельной программы 8 Московской международной биеннале современного искусства представляет новый проект Алексея Луки, современного художника и представителя движения уличного искусства в России.


В соответствии с концепцией выставки два этажа галереи станут воплощением рабочего пространства уличного художника, который работает как в городской среде, так и в стенах мастерской. В рамках концепции, на первом этаже разместятся объекты и ассамбляжи, относящиеся к уличной визуальной культуре, а на втором — художественная студия. Лестница станет своего рода порталом, ведущим зрителя из публичного пространства города в приватную зону художника.

Однако не все так просто. Внутреннее и внешнее никогда полностью не отгорожены друг от друга, они бесконечно переплетаются и находятся в непрекращающемся диалоге. Так, невозможно однозначно определить, где проходит граница между художественным объектом и реальным физическим контекстом, в который он помещен. Зритель становится свидетелем постоянно меняющейся иллюзии, где элементы среды вдруг начинают восприниматься как искусство, а произведения органично интегрируются в окружающее пространство.

Довольно часто материал для своих работ Алексей Лука находит на улице. Городские элементы, олицетворяющие нечто общее и безличное, попадают в его мастерскую, где наравне с найденной на улице мебелью и личными вещами художника превращаются в цельное произведение. Все материалы и элементы здесь имеют свою историю, принадлежат к разным временным пластам, но объединенные в композицию, обретают новую жизнь.

Отказываясь от прямых указаний на принадлежность объекта к городскому или интерьерному пространству, Алексей Лука лишает зрителя стереотипного восприятия уличного искусства. Он предоставляет возможность самостоятельно переосмыслить понятия эстетического и бытового, внутреннего и внешнего, личного и общественного.

В рамках своей выставки Алексей Лука представит произведения, выполненные в совершенно различных техниках, включая живописные абстрактные панно, ассамбляжи, объекты и скульптуры из найденных старых дверей, окон и других предметов. Его главной задачей будет показать, как все эти художественные практики могут естественным образом вплетаться в общественное и частное пространство, мимикрируя в заданной среде. Выставка «Подъезд №5» — это не декорация и не пространственное представление работ художника в галерее, а самостоятельный целостный проект-исследование, позволяющий включить отдельные произведения в полифоническую дискуссию друг с другом и точнее выявить суть современного уличного искусства.

Алексей Лука (род. в 1983 году) — московский художник, представитель движения уличного искусства в России, чей творческий метод обращен к абстрактной живописи, а также переосмыслению модернистских традиций в городском пространстве. Алексей Лука много работает с архитектурной формой и фактурой материалов, используя различные медиа, будь то живопись, графика, объекты, инсталляции.

Интерес к архитектурной составляющей, как и увлечение граффити и стрит-артом появились у Алексея Луки еще в годы учебы в Московском архитектурном институте. Постепенно уличное искусство становилось в России все более заметным художественным течением, вместе с фестивалями и биеннале приобретая институциональное признание. Параллельно с этим процессом росло желание Луки трансформировать свое хобби и способ самовыражения в профессиональную художественную практику.

Алексей Лука — регулярный участник российских и международных биеннале (I, II и III Биеннале искусства уличной волны “Артмоссфера” (2014, 2016, 2018 гг.), 6 Биеннале в Марракеше, Марокко (2016г.), а также крупных групповых проектов в сфере уличного искусства (фотоальманах Алексея Партола “Части стен 2” (2018), выставка «Части Стен» в ЦВЗ Манеж в Санкт-Петербурге (2018), выставка “Стена” в рамках Форума уличного искусства в ММОМА (2019). Отдельного внимания заслуживают масштабные муралы, создаваемые художником в рамках различных паблик-арт фестивалей во всех точках мира с 2012 года: Москве, Санкт-Петербурге, Выксе, Ростове-на-Дону, Астрахани, а также во многих городах Италии, Испании, Германии, Дании, Франции, Эстонии, Словакии и Марокко.

В Галерее Ruarts работы Луки были представлены на совместных и коллективных выставках (“Части стен” 2014; “Непредвиденные обстоятельства” 2015; “Дачный сезон” 2017; “Части стен 2” 2018). В сентябре этого года оба этажа галереи станут площадкой для большого персонального проекта художника “Подъезд №5”, а в октябре Алексей Лука станет участником Основного проекта 8 Московской международной биеннале современного искусства.
ВЫСТАВКА
Пресса
Powered by